Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture

Spencer Award for Sustainable Agriculture

2014 RECIPIENTS  (Nominations are closed for 2014.)

About the Spencer family

Norm and MargThe Spencer Award honors the beliefs, innovations and stewardship of Norman and Margaretha Spencer, who farmed near Sioux City for 40 years. It serves as a lasting memorial to the Spencers, who believed that it is the obligation of each generation to leave the world a better and healtheir place for the next generation.

The award was established in 2001 by an endowment from the Spencer family, and is administered by the Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture at Iowa State University. The 2014 award includes a $1,000 cash prize.

Read a tribute to Norm and Margaretha Spencer [PDF].

Who is eligible

Anyone who has made significant contributions to the advancement of ecological and economic practices that will make agriculture sustainable and the family farm secure for the future. This can include individuals, agricultural organizations, researchers, educators, or students engaged in sustainable agriculture projects.

How to qualify

You may apply for the Spencer Award or be nominated by others. Agricultural organizations are strongly encouraged to submit nominations to highlight the achievements of their members. Nominees must have:

  • Made a significant contribution that will affect, influence and/or advance the ecological and economic stability of mainstream family farms in the state of Iowa;
  • A record of accomplishment in research, technical or practical advancement or education; and,
  • A long-standing commitment to the sustainability of mainstream family farms.

What to submit

Complete the Nomination Form and return it to the Leopold Center with two letters of support.

2014 nomination form [PDF]

When to apply

Nominations must be received by June 6, 2014.


Contact Mary Adams, Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture, 209 Curtiss Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011-1050; Fax: (515) 294-9696; or e-mail (with Spencer Award nom as subject line): madams@iastate.edu